stillleisure.blogg.se

Whats the best ide for c
Whats the best ide for c













  1. #WHATS THE BEST IDE FOR C FULL#
  2. #WHATS THE BEST IDE FOR C CODE#

In most, if not all IDEs, the editor is naturally at the heart of the development process.Įmacs does all this, it does it with a wide range of languages and tasks, and it does it with excellence, since it is seamlessly expandable by the user wherever he misses anything.Ĭounterexample: you could develop using something like Notepad, access documentation through Firefox and XPdf, and steer the compiler and debugger from a shell. It can get information from the compiler, automatically jump to errors, and highlight them. For example, the editor can know about what language we write in, and give us symbol autocompletion, jump-to-definition, auto-indentation, syntax highlighting, etc. This integration lets the different subparts interact better. In an IDE, we can access and use the different subparts with a minimum of switching we don't have to leave our defined environment. Integrated means that all parts of the environment are somehow under a uniform surface. the compiler, an interface to the debugger, and access to online documentation (this list may not be exhaustive). This defines what subparts we need: an editor, an interface to the REPL, resp. We use the environment to develop software. In this case, it is what we see on our monitor (perhaps hear from our speakers) and manipulate through our keyboard (and perhaps a mouse).ĭevelopment is what we want to do in this environment, its purpose, if you want. To analyze this, I start from the end.Īn environment is, generally speaking, the part of the world that surrounds the point of view. What is an IDE?Īs a starting point, let's expand the acronym: Integrated Development Environment. However, if you need to spend your thinking energy on something more important an IDE is definitely the way to go in order to keep productivity.Įdit: OK, I'll elaborate.

whats the best ide for c

#WHATS THE BEST IDE FOR C FULL#

To summarize: If you only work on one or two projects, preferably full-time without too much distractions, "terminal based coding" can be more productive than a full blown IDE. Refactoring will lead to updates in make-files, etc. Also maintaining a project will take a lot more effort. You will need to know the tools in detail to fully leverage their potentials. Usually when you work with command line tools you will frequently have to solve a lot of boilerplate problems that will keep you from being productive. But I don't think it is possible to defend that way of working just for it's own sake when your mind is needed elsewhere.

#WHATS THE BEST IDE FOR C CODE#

There are benefits of using the "hardcore" approach (terminal) - such as that you have a much thinner layer between yourself and the code which allows you to be a bit more productive when you're all "inside" the project and everything is on the top of your head. I could not afford spending time and effort on keeping all projects "in my head" as other things got more important. Spanning from C and C++, to Java and Python to name few languages I am currently working with. I've moved from a terminal text-editor+make environment to Eclipse for most of my projects.

whats the best ide for c

When people ask me to look at their code, I don't have to learn the IDE they use (if you wonder if that works in "really big projects"––it does work, and the bigger the project the more performance it gains me) I know my Makefiles because I write them, and they only do what I tell them to I do Config Management explicitly, so I know when I'm synced and how. I'm finding things in my code manually, which makes me keep it simple and organized. I operate files, so I'm forced to keep them manageable. Most importantly, it is very much like seeing the Matrix in raw code. And UNIX CLI can do things IDEs often can't––because their developers didn't think you'd need them So all the commands are on my fingertips, and when I need them I don't have to go read a reference book. It keeps me close to CLI, preferably UNIX/Linux CLI. And it does help a lot sometimes to be able to ssh into the target and do some quick things there You can program remotely, via ssh, when you need to.

whats the best ide for c

I would go with vi, but GUI editors provide for a better fonts, and that is important when you look at code all day The first thing I do––I get myself nedit on Linux or Notepad++ on Windows.

whats the best ide for c

If you program in C, you do have the compiler, and usually you can get yourself an editor. Now I prefer this simple combination––a syntax highlighting editor + C compiler and linker cli + make––to any IDEs, even if environment allows for them. Then, while working on QNX some long time ago, I was forced to do with a text editor + compiler/linker. I started off by using IDEs, Microsoft or not.















Whats the best ide for c